Viva la.... 8:29 a.m. 03.29.2006
So it was yesterday we had a student walkout in protest over the proposed legislation regarding the illegal immigrant issue. From what I saw, they were mostly highschoolers. It�s a good excuse not to be in class, and one that I would have gladly picked up on and supported. Not because I actually believed in the cause, or actually even knew about it. But merely because I didn�t have to be in 3rd period English.

And at least one reporter had the same thoughts. Asking questions about the rally that no one seemed to be able to answer, you know like� �why are you protesting?�. And then they questioned a rather excitable young latino, who was screaming �THIS WAS OUR COUNTRY FIRST�. The reporter actually pointed out that at one time a decent portion of this land was formerly Mexico property, but that was lost, fair and square. The kid didn�t seem to get the point.

The other thing that I found moderately amusing was the inordinate amount of Mexican flags being waved. I�m sorry but maybe I�m not following this issue close enough but I don�t really *get* that. I thought the issue was, Mexico was an economic shit hole and people wanted to come to America, where they could improve their standard of living.

If we�re talking about national pride, at that point, shouldn�t they have been waving American flags?

I don�t know, I find it all very bizarre.

-G