Courtney 2:11 a.m. 05.27.2003
Courtney. That was her name, a charming and affable young woman (only a year younger then myself).

Yes, this entry is about her. I met her for decadent reasons and I�ll likely never speak a word to her again, unfortunately. But that�s the way of things, and I know this. She�s the Eponine figure (Les Miserables), the Kim (Miss Saigon). Of course I�d find particular interest in such a character.

Ahh� Courtney, the limerent girl. Her eyes, she gets a lot of comments on her eyes, according to her, and I believe her. They are, of course, striking. Any fool could be able to discern as much, but what truly made them impactful was emotion behind the eyes. Call me a romantic, if you will, I care not, but those eyes were wounded and full of experience. She was a person that knew that life could be hell sometimes and resented the fact that she�d come to accept it. Proud, yet fragile. Full of sensuality, of course, who could think otherwise?

Yes, perhaps I am decadent at times, I�ll accept that, but those times can sometimes equate to meeting people such as Courtney. Yes, a single serving friend, in the terms of Tyler Durden, someone whom I speak with for a brief period of time, but yet the thought of them lingers on for much longer, as the thought of her undoubtedly will. How will I know that I�ll never see her again? That�s quite easy, it�s the way of things. Call it unfortunate if you will, it�s just the way.

I�d like to read her life story in a book, perhaps, or maybe a series of short stories. Years down the road I�ll think back and wonder if she was ever able to abandon her limerence and mend her broken heart. I�d like to thumb through the pages and hear about how she met the person that finally buried the scars from the past and allowed her to move on, in love with not only another, but also herself.

Just a brush with another lost soul in this town full of lost souls. I wish her the best of luck in the trials ahead of her. It�s always a pleasure to meet such a delightful and loyal person. They seem to be rare indeed.

It�s funny, my initial meeting with Erica could be summed up closely to this all and here we are, fast friends for life. Who would have thought it? Life is funny, sometimes.

Now, if you�ll excuse me, I must be awake and spry at a ridiculously early time. And to think I was supposed to go to the Foundation Room tonight.. pfft! I�m too old for this shit, anymore.

-G