Watch me throw it all away... 6:21 p.m. 05.08.2002
I�ve been thinking about the whole fight club/starbucks issue. I�ve always known my stance on it, but never in a way I could easily articulate it. Reading Bey has helped a bit, in that regard, by upgrading my vocabulary with a few more anarchy friendly words and phrases. None that I�ll directly rip off here, or at least don�t think so, but still, it�s expanded my capabilities to articulate a bit more.

The issue is how can I appreciate the denunciation of corporate consumer society yet still regularly visit a corporate coffee bar. I admit, on the surface it seems to appear as a contradiction. However, the key here is self awareness. An ability to be able to laugh at myself every time I order my venti-non-fat-no-whip mocha. Most people that are caught up in the whole consumer mentality seem to take it way too seriously. I think it�s a big fucking joke, but I like coffee. To be specific, I like consistent caffeinated chocolate milk. It�s my ability to step away from the myself and the herd, and to be able to fully enjoy the pure frivolity of it all.

And on the opposite end of the spectrum, I can appreciate fight club. I can appreciate Hakim Bey (which, the more and more I read seem to be the inspiration for Fight Club, although true Hakim Bey fans will likely hunt me down and burn me on a slightly lop sided X that could be thought of as a cross, but really can�t be, for saying that). They�re about personal freedom and personal awareness. You still have to live, you still have to work at some point, whether in school or at an actual place of employment. There are still things you must do in order to survive. But being aware of your environment is such a hugely important issue. It helps form the frame work for your whole life. Maybe, just maybe, by being aware of your environment, the opportunity to make some mark on it may arise. Either way, I�d rather traverse this life completely aware and always searching then condemned to a rigid way of thinking and acting.

Every once in awhile a person needs to realign their perspective, especially if things are getting hazy. This is why I slept in a motorcycle helmet. Why I�m going to choose to be homeless for a period of time. It�s taking the pulse of my personality.

On a slightly more important note; Chuck still hadn�t appeared to have had any food when I got home today. So I�m sitting at my computer pondering things... (insert cool mental voice) What would I do if some girl dumped me and I was so depressed, I just sat around like a slob for weeks on end, never leaving the house... I thought to myself a bit... then it came to me! If I was to eat, it would be delivery! So no big deal, the poor fucker just wants a spider�s version of a pizza, right? Just chill in the pad and have his food delivered. Maybe watch some soap�s or talk shows (mental note: leave TV on when leaving for the day).

Happy that I�ve got a concrete idea to help Chuck out, I run out of my front door, and turn over a big rock lining the ivy out front, Eureka!! About a billion little pizza�s running around, sweet! I snag one, a nice sized roll-e-poll-e, which naturally rolls into a ball. I get a little concerned at first, wondering if Chuck could make it through the shell. Well... I have no problem getting a pizza out of the box, why should he? Happy and smug in my assumptions, I run back into the house, find the most dense portion of his web, and drop the little bug in.

I think I scared Chuck :(. So when I dropped this bug in, it fell through the first portion of the web it did get snagged near the bottom of it, at that point it opened up and thrashed around frantically, completely fucking up the web (even more so then it already was) until at which point it fell through, behind my computer desk.... sigh. Chuck was cowering in fear at the very top portion of the web.

I was very sad. But then it occured to me that if some big giant came and dropped a huge fucking pizza on my house, crushing a third of it, I�d probably be a little concerned too.

I�m thinking too big. Not a problem, here in a few hours it�ll be dark, I can turn on the porch light and snag a pretty little lace wing and chuck �em in the web (no pun intended). I�ll let you all know how that turns out, I�m hopeful. Chuck seems to be looking at me nervously. Maybe he wants to watch TV.

I bet if he could play my PS2, he�d beat my ass at Tony Hawk.

Agfa and vampires,

-G