For all known, and light shown... 1:47 p.m. 08.08.2002
Victorville. That�s where I need to go. I�ve been there before but have zero proof. I can think of hrm.. 8 rolls of film I shot in Victorville. I was in love back then, too. Intoxicated with my own emotions (and a bottle of wine). Of course, I can�t prove it. I remember telling someone recently about this great location I found out in Victorville.. When they asked to see the photographs, I couldn�t show them (I don�t have them). So I�ll go back and I�ll transform the place from what it was to me before into what it is now. Abandoned, angry, and ultimately.. empty.

When I photographed Susan out there I was so ridiculously in love that all the photographs oozed it, even the ones where we were both inebriated and the focus wasn�t the best and the lighting was a flash in the night. That seems like so long ago. Years, yes... Back when we both liked ourselves. She was so beautiful to me. So... infinite.

There are these single family homes by the railroad tracks, just down from, what looks like, an abandoned main street shopping center, complete with gas station and women�s hat store. All of it boarded up and falling down. It�s easy enough to imagine children playing in the backyards of these houses that weren�t separated by fences. They would wave run along the tracks as trains rolled by, the conductor would pull the great steam whistle in greeting and wave back.

But that�s all gone now.. almost everything is gone. There are a few walls, a door or two.. capped with a ceiling of stars and sky. A wasteland of lost memories.

Monday or Tuesday, coming up. I�ll leave around 2am to get there for the morning light and spend the day in the area and return back to the location for dusk. I�m looking forward to this, it�s necessary. These images sizzle in my head, sounding like someone frying locusts in my skull. A deserted walkway along deserted shops, an image begging for someone, anyone, to be walking down the uneven pathway.. empty.

Until then, however.. there are a few locations I�m going to pay a visit too in the mean time. And yes, if I create a photograph I do not hate then I will share, why not? I share everything else it seems.

Anyway, I keep moving forward.

-G