Bitterness and the mass slaughter of bread. 12:32 a.m. 06.02.2003
Hehe.. I found this film by Don Hertzfeldt that sums up the dating scene in Vegas quite nicely. It�s old, as in.. I saw it originally at one of those cartoon fests many, many years ago (and loved it then!), but here it is, on the Internet. It�s 1.6meg so you freaks with dial-up, be warned.

Right Click and Save As!

Heh... I love that thing. Anyway, my weekend was interesting as normal, not really consistently interesting, mind you, but spiked with oddness.

The scene, 5am getting on to the freeway, come up over the hump in the on ramp and see� stuff all over the freeway. Little white bricks and flares and cop cars and a truck on its side. Being 5am on a Saturday morning, I freak out and start swerving madly to avoid these white bricks and flares all over the fucking place, because they would destroy my truck. Obviously. I mean, it fucking looked like Beirut! I was expecting mortar rounds and various gunshots to be zinging around me at any moment!

Oh and I ran over a bunch of those little white things. Yeah, a lot of them. They made kind of a soft �thudding� under the car, not exactly the total destruction I was expecting, but I thought maybe my senses were dulled and I should still panic anyway, you know, out of principle or something.

CD�s flying everywhere, various books n� shit in the back seat of my cab were clunking around, adding to the chaos. And of course, a cops lights and siren behind me, just to make sure I�m good and freaked out!

So he pulls me over, walks up to the car and asks if I�m �Okay�. Er.. sure! He then explains that a fucking BREAD truck turned over, spewing its contents all over the highway, and I drove right through the main pile of them. They had a couple flares around but the only cop on the scene yet had ran out, so they couldn�t properly warn me away from the bread booby trap.

He then told me to go home, that I looked �tired�.

Aside from that, most of the weekend was spent strategizing about a new business concept. I really think this is it, it�s brilliant! I can�t spill the beans, but trust me.. it is a fantastic idea. We�re working feverishly on getting everything rolling. I really believe this one is it, I haven�t been this excited about anything regarding business in � a long, long time. I know what caused the failure of that particular business venture back then, and I�m not going to let that happen again. As Richard said earlier today, this is our redemption!

Oh and can�t forget Joyce and I walking around the Howard Hughes center for from like midnight till 4am, talking. That�s just the sort of surreal thing that makes me appreciate this town and my friends.

Eh, anyway.. I need to get back to work. At this rate, I�ll be up till tomorrow night trying to get this shit done and I want to go to print in 9 hours, damnit!

-G

edit: WTF! The god damned ceiling fan knocked a moth into my soup!

!!!!