Happy Birthday, to me! 1:16 a.m. 06.30.2003
So I�m sitting at the computer, polishing off a bottle of wine (�95 Ferrari-Carano Merlot, if you must know. Technically speaking, it�s my second best bottle of wine. I think I earned it, don�t you?) and, well... I�m not going to tell you what else I�m doing. Not because it�s lewd or I have any amount of self-respect left, because I assure, I do not. It�s just that, well... it�s a secret! But I can tell you that I�m listening to Norah Jones and watching the flickering specters on the wall, created by the dancing candlelight.

Much ado about nothing.

Right, so, anyway, I�ve had an interesting week, to be sure. I�ve brokered an uneasy and slightly nutty peace with the spider hordes. I had a face off when I caught a particularly large wolf spider, with his/her family clustered around it�s bulbous ass, completely off guard. After about a 15-minute staring contest out on my sidewalk at like, 4am, some sort of mental deal was brokered.

Basically, the gist of the deal is (spider telepathy is a little rough to understand, but I struggled through it) that they won�t entomb me in a prison of steel like spider silk, and suck my bodily fluids out, if I don�t continue my reckless use of the substance know as �Aqua-Net�.

And who says the use of weapons of mass destruction never deterred more bloodshed? Pfft!

I�ve hobnobbed with elected public officials (From judges to politicians and a metric-fuckton of attorneys) last Thursday at the annual NTLA Summer Gala. Yes, that�s right. I�m a member of the Nevada Trial Lawyers Association. Oh, and did I also mention that I�m a member of the Bar? Yes, well.. I am. I even have my own bar number. I didn�t even have to take a test!

But I still find it amusing that there will be photographs of me with all the judges, that will probably be published in the local trade journal and website. Hah. And because of that, I was like, the guy to know or something. People would appear out of no where and introduce themselves. Hah!

Important networking tip � Be seen with the most powerful people in the room before you talk to ANYONE, you are thereby a powerful person by association. I�m so glad the judge I already knew snatched me up at the sign in table to introduce me to the other judges :).

Yes, it was a grand night. I love dressing in my power suit, with my power tie, and my power pocket silk and working a room. The dinner wasn�t half bad either.

I also was invited to dinner at several people�s houses, and a couple private parties coming up. Most of which were relatively high-ranking partners in some of the biggest firms in town.

It�s a pity I didn�t have a partner to work the room with, however, I think I would have been much better then. I was always better at working a room with someone. Less chance that the topic of conversation is outside the team�s range of knowledge, since pulling from two bases. Oh well, as it was, it was a good night.

Heh, if I actually was an attorney, I could be employed pretty damned quickly. Figures, eh? I should have a second job soon, just waiting for a phone call to go fill out some paper work. Nothing glamorous, just extra money to make it through the dry season, and with the connections I�ve been making these last few weeks, the dry season looks short, indeed.

Had a nice quiet dinner with the guys last night, which was a refreshing change from the normal drinking benders that we�re accustomed to! I�m getting way to old for that shit these days. I just can�t handle the recovery time afterwards, I really can�t! That and no one really has the kind of cash to finance that sort of thing, right now. Everyone is hurting for money.

And I must say, I�ve got the best group of friends in the god damned world. I love each and every one of you, and I mean it. This really is a happy birthday, because I know I�ve got a group around me that gives a shit and can be counted on. Despite their freakness at times, the frustration they can drive a person to go through, other times, they really are a bunch of quality human beings.

But enough about those fuckers :).

It�s late, and I remembered a reason I�ve got to wake up at 7am. So much for my sleeping in on my birthday! Oh well. Assuming all goes well, I can always come back and go back to sleep :P.

Jolly good night to you all,

-G