A driver on a cell phone is less erratic. 4:02 p.m. 05.22.2002
It�s been a funny day, a funny strange day. I�ve accepted that I�m a complete flaming wreck if I don�t get enough sleep. A big fat ogre, as it were. Enough sleep is 6+ hours. I used to be awesome at going on very little sleep. I�d go over a week without sleep at times. I can�t do that anymore. I�m getting old.

Today while sitting at a stop light, my mind wasn�t a million miles away. It was right there, so deeply rooted in my own musings people might have thought it was a million miles away. I glanced over to this car and saw some toy wobbly headed dog in the rear window bobbing its head to the beat of the NiN cd playing. Nothing can stop me now �cause I don�t care anymore... (grin)

I�m looking forward to tonight, although I�m slightly nervous. I�m delivering the plastic effigy of Freud to it�s rightful owner. A person who flagrantly admits to enjoy doing things she knows she shouldn�t do. This concerns me. One thing a person should not do is walk into the starbucks with an �adorable suit case� with furby eyes glued on it, and beat me to death with it. Could this be one of these things she knows she shouldn�t do, yet enjoys? I certainly hope not.

Assuming I survive this, I�m then going to indulge in half price sushi at Malibu Chan�s. I think. The aliens may interfere again, so who really knows on this one. I�ve been thwarted before by aliens so I�m dubious.

Other then that, I�m feeling simply... smarvelous. No, that isn�t a typo.

There literally isn�t a cloud in the sky today. This displeases me, there should, at least, be one cloud residing over the general vicinity of Tropicana and Maryland Pkwy.

Nihilism : a viewpoint that traditional values and beliefs are unfounded and that existence is senseless and useless

Media did this, we did this. The same reason people enjoy lies has led us to this. Of course existence is senseless, that�s the point. I�m reminded of the street performer in NY, he wasn�t so much as a performer but as a... free man. He painted the sidewalks with chalk in such a pattern that they made amazing murals 40� across and so amazingly detailed one would think it took decades to create. The use of colors and shading were simply brilliant.

Rain was forecast later that day. I watched him for three hours. I went and got him some warm water with lemon at some point.

No one would walk on it while he was working on it, it was huge though and took up most of the side walk for many yards. People went around it after briefly glancing at it. A few people tried to tell him it would rain, he knew.

After he was finished, he sat on a concrete planter near the center of his work and looked at what he had done. I was silent, soaking in the entire experience with wonderment. A few minutes later he gathered up his chalks and other little tools/cloths that he had used and started to walk away. Around that time people no longer avoided walking on it. I spoke up (following quotes are paraphrases, of course);

�Excuse me, can I ask you a question?�

�Sure,� he says �lots of people do.�

�Why? Why draw on a side walk when you know moments after your finished it�ll be walked upon and rained on? It�s amazing and it�s going to be gone soon.�

�Simple, the moment is what makes it so sweet. That took a lot of hard work, the most you can ever expect out of something great is a moment. It will be gone soon, washed away down this gutter, but it was a great moment.�

He smiled, thanked me again for the water, and walked away.

Everything we do will eventually be nothing. There will probably be a point where human history is no more. Where even the greatest of achievements and the greatest people of mankind will be forgotten by the universe. Does this make it all worthless? Was this man�s chalk mural a waste?

The end is what gives meaning. To do the most with what you can and the time you have. To have great moments. We�ve been infected with these ideas and concepts that there is no end, there is something beyond death, beyond life. This has trivialized life and the time we�re here. Even those among us who aren�t religious secretly hope for something after death, anything. We've become the ultimate haters of life.

We�ve truly become a nihilistic society. Everyone must struggle with nihilism at some point if they want to be free. They have to come to terms that nothing is forever and that all effort is eventually exhausted. The chalk artist understood this. Do the rest of us?

We are all artists, every single one of us, we have a finite time to create until the rain comes. Glorious....

-G