Safe from harm. 11:08 p.m. 05.23.2002
I just woke up about an hour ago. From yesterday. And no, this does not mean I got a lot of sleep, quite the contrary actually. You see, after I met up with the angsty scree�r (Very cool, btw) to fork over the Freud doll, I went and ate Sushi with Erica.

Now, as I�ve said before, Erica is an impressive person. I�ve yet to meet a person who�s impressive and frustratingly young at the same time. She only acts her age in one particular area of her life, but other then that, she�s cool as hell.

She�s dangerous as hell too but what isn�t these days?

Our conversation was heated and excited, both feeding off the energy of the other, dreams of warm sun, damp sand and honest to god living. No more stasis, no more getting by until we die. Maybe I�ll go shrimping with her off the coast of Australia next year, that would be marvelous.

Mmmm fresh dead fish. There is something ironic about wolfing down tastefully displayed and prepared fresh dead fish while talking about abandoning the script put before us at birth. A script that does everything possible, seemingly, to deny and avoid life.

I�m stuck in traffic at midnight, takes me over 45 minutes to get home, a laughing reminder. Interesting phone call from someone I never thought I�d have an interesting phone call from. She complained I never call her. I never call anyone anymore. I was still buzzed and high from even the thought of life, nervous and afraid. Encouragement from a strange place! What I�m saying is meaning something to people, clicking inside their heads. It�s making sense? I�m really not crazy, I may be onto something.

Erica calls, asked for my address. It�s been so long since she�s written anyone, she wants to write someone. She thanks me. She thanks me for my mind and for my passion for life. For reminding her of hers. I blush madly and want to deny everything, but I�m happy to share with someone who seems to understand.

I sleep for an hour and wake up, mind calculating possibilities, meticulously sifting through details and options. Visa�s, I need to find out about visa�s. Do people want people like us just moving to their island and getting a job? Sitting on their beech? Is there adequate medical care near by? What government do I contact? How exactly do I contact them? What are the correct questions to ask? Must note everything. Must question everything. I�ll jump off a cliff, oh yes, but only after looking down. Plus, this isn�t just about me. This is also about grandma.

She�s worked 54 years of her life to end up in a ghetto? No, I think not. She�ll be on a warm beach. She�ll see some happiness during the winter of her life.

I�m not going to sleep, not now, exhaustion is the only way I�m going to sleep tonight. Paul, I must go see Paul.

Paul inspires me, I�ve said it before, I know. But it feels okay to think aloud around him, it�s nice to feel free like that. Bonus, Chris shows up. Funny! Grand �ole time at Chicago brewery. I get home around 11:30am?

I sleep for a few hours. Call about getting a job, don�t get a job, sleep for a couple more.

What a long wondrous day.

-G