Adventures in Happy Land 12:29 a.m. 07.23.2002
So I went out shooting again today, I�m an animal! Gah I�m going crazy with it though. I�m starting to think I don�t know what makes a good picture anymore. But more on that later, first off.... Happy Land is one of the greatest photo locations anywhere. It�s simply fantastic, you could shoot there for years and still find new and interesting things. Well, you could if you were anybody but me, but I digress.

Today in Las Vegas it was oh.. a bazillion fucking degrees. It was a bit hotter out at Happy Land. I�m not going to disclose the actual location of Happy Land since it�s MINE! ALL MINE.. er.. well, it�s trespassing for one thing. I called the guy who owned the land a few years ago to see if I could get actual permission to shoot out there, even offered to sign something absolving him of any liability if I happen to fall to my death or get cancer next year because of all the toxins out there just floating around. He said if he ever saw me out there he would shoot me. Hrm... I�m taking that as a rather emphatic no. Just a hunch.

I will, however, give a hint as to the location. Follow this ditch and hang a right. *nods*

Oh yeah the other thing about the place is, I actually do think it�s toxic as hell. There are a couple of open pit mines (big hint) near there and I think this is where they leeched all the valuable shit out of the ore which left a nasty black residue that covers everything, giving it the look like it�s all been scorched by a huge fire, which might have happened too.

When tetanus germs (clostridium tetani) die and they�ve been good? They come here. Tetanus heaven, yup. Odd metal objects sticking out of... everything. No lie, in places they look like iron bushes. It�s kind of hard to see in this picture because the light is so contrasty (I was on my way out), but on the right you have normal bush, on the left, iron bush. Freaky stuff.

Did I mention it was fucking hot? Here is an obligatory picture of myself dressed for heat stroke.

Okay so now that I�ve got the intro to Happy Land out of the way, on to the problem. The problem being, I don�t know what constitutes a good picture anymore, within regards to myself I think. I�ve no problem critiquing others work (I�m an asshole, news flash), but I�ve no idea about my own. Everything just seems so... photo realistic. Which is pretty damned funny considering it�s a photo.. of something real. Yeah, I don�t get it either.

I guess what I�m trying to say is my previous stuff had a particularly surreal or unreal quality about them. Let�s take the picture love for example, it doesn�t seem real, does it? If, at this point, you are opening and closing your mouth like a goldfish who was just been introduced the concept of playing tennis, you�re not alone.

Okay let�s look at some of the things I did today. I felt like a doll today, I get like that... I�ve no quirky art fag names for any of these yet so we�ll just title them... boredom and boredom2. That should suffice.

They just seem... lacking. Opinions? And don�t tell me they are contrived shit, everything I do is contrived shit, it�s my �style�. (Yes, Joe... if you ever read this, I�m making fun of you)

See, this next one is another one I just don�t fucking know about. I mean, I think it makes for an interesting picture... but it just looks like a picture of a broken pipe. Why, you ask? Because it is, and that�s my point. Is it an interesting broken pipe? I�d like to think so, since I used battery power to capture this image, but I just really don�t know.

Could someone really hang that in their bathroom? Well, bad question... people hang all sorts of stupid fucking pictures in their bathrooms.

I don�t know... I�m a whack job.

Oh I highly suggest, if you actually care, to download those pics and look at them with a program that uses a black background. It helps, I think.

So I could use some feedback people, really, I can. I don�t normally whine for actual interaction since I recognize the voyeuristic point behind this all, but throw me a bone here, I�m floundering =. Email (remove the NO_SPAM at the end of the address) or notes, whatever floats your goat. I just need some discourse in regards to these few pics.

Thank you. No, really.

Eleven and golf,

-G